From the outside Rug Chapel is pretty enough, but unremarkable. Inside, however, it is a different story.
Luckily it managed to avoid the Victorian campaign to "restore" our parish churches by ripping out all the 17th and 18th furnishings and returning them to what they believed was their medieval character.
Check the Cadw site for opening times, admission prices, etc.
It was built in 1637 by Colonel William Salesbury, affectionately known as ‘Hen Hosanau Gleision’ (Old Blue Stockings), as a private chapel. It has survived, largely unaltered, since then.
The heavy oak beams and panelling could have resulted in a gloomy interior where it not for the magnificently vibrant painting which, even after 400 years, gives the interior a warm glow that contrasts remarkably with the cold, hard, puritanical aesthetic of most parish churches.